Charles University

Charles University, Prague (Univerzita Karlova) is the oldest and largest university in the Czech Republic. Founded in 1348, it was the first university in the Holy Roman Empire and in Central Europe in general. It is one of the oldest universities in Europe.

Charles University now contains 17 faculties, 3 collegiate institutes, 6 additional establishments for educational, scientific, research and developmental activities.

Charles University is an accredited public university. Here are more than 7,000 University employees, 4,000 of them are academic and research workers. Cca 50,000 students study at Charles University in more than 300 accredited degree programmes and 660 study disciplines. More than 15,500 are studying in bachelor’s programmes, 26,000 in master’s programmes and more than 7,000 in doctoral programmes. Over 6,000 students are from abroad.

Charles University stresses international cooperation with prestigious educational and scientific establishments. Charles University has entered into 450 bilateral agreements and 190 international partnerships with foreign universities.

It belongs to the most eminent educational and scientific establishments in Central Europe which are recognized in both the European and global context. It is an outstanding cultural institution due to its scientific and pedagogical results and its unique historical tradition.

According to the recent Academic Ranking of World Universities by Shanghai Jiao Tong University, it ranked as the leading university in the Czech Republic and the second one in Central and Eastern Europe after the Moscow University.


Faculty of Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciences is the second youngest faculty of Charles University. It was created in 1990 through a fundamental reorganization of the former Faculty of Journalism. Its main goal is to develop teaching and research in those aspects of the social sciences, which (directly or indirectly) relate to the public administration or to the economic and cultural life of society. Today the Faculty has around 4000 full-time students, plus a floating population of about 500 visiting students per year. In addition, we continue to enroll a number of foreign nationals in our full-time degree programmes, both Czech and English. Our faculty has one of the highest international mobility participation rates of all the faculties of Charles University.

The Faculty is divided into five principal departments (or institutes), each of them is responsible for teaching and research in one of the five main subject areas cultivated at the Faculty – communication and journalism, economy, international (area) studies, political studies and sociology.